ScopesAndAmmo.com Store Logo

+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Sighting in my scope

Sighting in my scope

So, I have a few questions about sighting in my scope. I am pretty new at this air gun stuff, although I've had a old pneumatic in the past.

I watched some youtube videos and eventually got my scope "sighted" to where I was consistently hitting a target dead on center at about 10 meters away. However, this past weekend I was target shooting in my backyard (in Toronto - I'm sure I'm violating some by-law but I frankly I don't care). I had my target set up about 35-40 meters away.

I was hitting it consistently but I was consistently "high" of the center mark. I'd say about 3-4 inches high of my aim point. I didn't try to adjust my scope because I wasn't sure that was the thing to do because I was shooting something so far away.

There was virtually NO wind involved so I do not believe it was a factor.

I guess the reason why I am puzzled is because I figured if it was dead on center at 10 meters, I'd be dead on center at 35. Am I doing something wrong?

I'm shooting a non-pal, Benjamin Sheridan Trail NP All Weather .22 cal.

Where the two "zeros" are depends on the velocity of your rifle, and also to a lesser extent the height of your scope above the boreline.... The pellet starts out below the line of sight (because your scope is mounted above the barrel) and when properly sighted, it rises up to cross the line of sight at some distance, peaks a bit above the line of sight, and then falls through the line of sight again, eventually ending up further and further below as the range increases.... This curved trajectory is due to gravity, and to a lesses effect wind resistance....