ScopesAndAmmo.com Store Logo

+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Rifling Twist

Rifling Twist

For the most part, this is a complicated, and poorly understood subject.... It has always fascinated me, and the lack of good information on subsonic ballistics has been a constant source of frustration to me.... A while ago, I discovered a Twist Calculator in the Border Barrels (Scotland) website which works not only for supersonic flight, but also for subsonic and the transition in between.... It has numerous inputs, and I would suggest you check it out.... http://www.border-barrels.com/barrel_twist.htm

First of all, let me state that I am NOT an expert in this field.... I have, however, done a lot of reading on the subject, to try and get a grasp of what is going on.... The original "standard" method of calculating the optimum rifling twist was the Greenhill Formula which dates back to 1879.... There have been many derived since, and one of the better ones is the Miller Rule, published in 2005.... However, even with that modern formula (probably because he had no interest in it), all velocities below the speed of sound used a velocity of 1120 fps.... The Border Barrels calculator, however, presents the optimum twist in graphic form from 500 fps up, and according to their website:
    This program is basically a slick version of Robert McCoy's "McGyro" DOS program, written in the late 1980's when he worked for the U.S. Army Ballistic Research Laboratory at the Aberdeen Proving Grounds. It was later improved by William Davis Jr. of Tioga Engineering and the claim was an accuracy of 5% for super and subsonic velocities, and 10% for trans-sonic velocities.