ScopesAndAmmo.com Store Logo

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Polygon Barrels?

Polygon Barrels?

These appeared awhile back- but I never gave them much thought.

Now, say hello to the newest Lothar-Walther dealer in Canada- and I can order any LW product from the factory and the polygon barrels aren't much different in price than the 'regular' barrels- so maybe it's something to look at?

Anyone got some information on the polygon product- advantages/disadvantages/reason for this shape?
    I'd say I care- but I'd probably be lying...

Congratulations, Eric. Nice addition to Scopes and Ammo...
    I'm not convinced there's a lot of benefit to this kind of rifling, but I have no first-hand experience with it.
    I have one concern with these, though- If I install one, will that make me a polygon-ist?

Hmmm, a polygonist- sounds interesting- is that a crime in Canada?

I have one in .25 cal for my Hayabusa but haven't tried it yet.... From what I've read, they deliver a slightly higher velocity but tend to be more pellet fussy.... IIRC, RandyHub said his was great with JSB Kings.... Mine, unfortunately, is a ways down the list of projects....

Bob
    Dominion Marksman Silver Shield - 5890 x 6000 in 1976, and downhill ever since!
    Airsonal: Too many to count!

To be honest the only time I've ever used a polygonal is in black powder and that seemed to work pretty good.

They haven't been adopted in the high end/target world to any degree. There are concerns that the stresses that are imparted `during the hammer forging process can never e totally relieved without the process of relieving causing distortion.